TOURS BY APPOINTMENT
BOB IHSEN 626-332-2605
CW Tucker documented the growth of Covina in pictures. A popular favorite of our visitors, his photos are a real treasure.
In the 194o's Marietta Broadwell wrote accounts of many of our pioneers. Fascinating accounts of early Covina and its citizens.
The craftsman-style house was built for William Nash, a local pharmacist, It was originally located on San Bernardino Road and was saved from demolition in 1989 when the historical society moved it to 300 North Valencia Avenue at the west side of Covina Park.
It is a true "snapshot" museum from the turn of the last century. Fully furnished, it has been left was it was and offers visitors a rare glimpse of life at the turn of the last century.
The Covina Valley Historical Society dedicated its small community museum on January 14, 1979. It has been opened free of charge every Sunday from 1-3 pm ever since.
Erected in 1911, the Firehouse is located directly behind Covina City Hall at 125 East College Street just east of Citrus Avenue in the heart of Covina's historic downtown district.
We showcase a fine assortment of local historical artifacts illustrating early rural life in the San Gabriel Valley. The jail serves as a safe repository for thousands of documents and photographs; dozens of vintage pictures taken by CW Tucker document the growth in the area, scrapbooks, early invoices, legal documents and citrus records. offer a glimpse of cultural and social life of the area.
The building was used as a municipal jail until 1974 and current visitors can do a short stint behind bars if they like.
preserving the past for the future
The Firehouse Jail Museum has a tremendous collection of citrus material including rare meteorological records.